What is a Republican? Why I left.

You will see through the content of this blog that I will be far harder on Republicans than Democrats. There is reason. As I posted in the original post, I voted that party until around 2005.

At least I thought I was. Apparently I am more of a social liberal and more of a fiscal moderate. I am more like Dwight Eisenhower, at least fiscally. I would prefer tax money to help the country and the people of the country, as opposed to dropping bombs and killing “enemies”. That, is no longer acceptable in the Republican party.

I used to live in a rural area. When I say rural I don’t mean some small town. You couldn’t see my neighbors. There were five houses on the road I lived on that was a mile and quarter long. I finally got satellite  TV. Then I started watching the news and C-Span. There were all kinds of different viewpoints. Some of them shouldn’t even be viewpoints, but, well, Free speech. That seems to be the problem. Not Free speech, but it seems that every viewpoint is supposed to be seen as having merit. You and I both know that is NOT possible.

I was still gravitating toward Glenn Beck, Lou Dobbs and once in awhile O’Reilly. Then I started listening to this guy named Bill Moyers, and watching John Stewart and Colbert. The clips of Fox News gaffes started the switch. I guess I always had a little bend to the left, because I always thought that Big Corporations needed some Rules to live by.  And I really didn’t care for how the larger banks screwed the system and turned the system upside down, forcing the smaller banks to mimic  them.  I remember my dad saying that he used to get 15% interest on his some of his business accounts. What did I just type? 15% interest? From a BANK?!?!?!  YES!  http://www.doctorhousingbubble.com/federal-reserve-fighting-inflation-in-the-1970s-and-restraining-the-housing-market-today-the-federal-reserve-is-juicing-the-housing-market-trying-to-cause-inflation-researching-the-1970s-and-1980s/

I don’t want to go to far into that because I plan a different post about that. Just saying it because it is pertinent to why I left the Republicans. Then the stock market tanked. As soon as I heard the talk about irresponsible homeowners, I knew what was going to happen. Something inside me said that there were going to be a lot of people thrown out in the street, some with nowhere to go. I can’t be a part of that. And then the banks were bailed out. That was almost the end.

Then something happened. Barack Hussein Obama was elected to the office of  President of the United States. It seemed like the world turned upside down. People who seemed like rational human beings, worth listening to and maybe even voting for, suddenly went berserk. People I thought were honorable, worth looking up to flipped their lids and went off the deep end. And when they all went to Fox, he he, I left.

Then I was introduced to the internet. And here we are. This is the culmination of where my surfing has led me. That got me to thinking about what a Republican is.  So I did some research in that area, and this is what I found. Mind you, I am not a journalist, or a paid party rep, just some guy that would rather know what is kind of going on instead of  knowing who won the latest reality show. I simply want to get to the Truth.

You should know most of the next few posts I do may be posts that were from other posts of mine and replies to other posters. That is why I was not posting for a while.

I started looking at some of the Tea Party sites to see how “non establishment Republican” they are. This is what I found.

http://theteapartyplatform.com/2011/09/17/a-short-history-of-corruption.aspx

Reading through this manifesto of sorts, looks like a butchered, half written, one sided chunk of a history book that has been the tug of war toy for two pit bulls.

It mentions Warren Harding and the Teapot Dome scandal. Harding was a Republican. The scandal had to do with leasing Federal land rights to oil companies without competitive bidding. (what we now call no bid contracts)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warren_G._Harding
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Teapot_Dome_scandal
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mineral_Leasing_Act_of_1920

Another interesting tidbit of information about Harding is how he handled the Great Railroad Strike

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Railroad_Strike_of_1922

By the end of July, US National Guard troops were on duty in seven states and some 2,200 deputy U.S. marshals were actively clamping down on meetings and pickets.

It seems that Harding also did some other things. This page is worth taking the time to read. It seems that the department of public welfare was instituted under this Republican. Hmmmm.
http://www.presidentprofiles.com/Grant-Eisenhower/Warren-G-Harding-Domestic-and-foreign-affairs.html
http://www.socialwelfarehistory.com/organizations/public-welfare-the-first-department-of-public-welfare/

That last link will tell you part of the reason that the welfare system is set up like it is.

It then jumps to 1973 and tells a little about Nixon and Watergate.

Then it skips to 1998 and the now infamous Monicagate.

Then on to 2001 to talk about the pardons of Bill Clinton.

Then it goes directly to our current President.

Forgot about Reagan and Iran Contra, S&L, all the little Central American wars, funding Osama Bin Laden to wage war against the Russian invasion.

http://www.slate.com/articles/news_and_politics/war_stories/2004/06/reagans_osama_connection.html

Boy that story sounds awful familiar. Just put us in Russia’s place and presto.

And Saddam Hussein. http://www.counterpunch.org/2004/06/17/how-reagan-armed-saddam-with-chemical-weapons/
http://articles.cnn.com/2008-11-20/world/sbm.documents_1_iran-iraq-iraq-s-foreign-policy-halabja?_s=PM:WORLD

And what the hell happened to Bush?  Am I and the rest of the Nation suffering from some sort of mind warp. Did we take the wrong pill and have an 8 year long terrible dream?

I know this is only from one site, but quite a few of these sites are just like this. History didn’t start until January 21, 2009. The US National debt went from $0-$15 TRILLION THAT DAY.

Sorry. I can’t join a Party that has selective history traits that bad. Wolverine thinks I am ignorant for posting the things I post. Wolverine also thinks that I am lying to you and misinforming you. I simply am motivated. This is my motivation. I turned off the corporate cable news shortly after the Banker Bailouts. Instead of watching American Idol and Survivor I surfed the internet. Looking and searching for stuff I remembered and things I had no idea about. What I found sickened me.I don’t have the social or political connections to do anything about this, So I am now on here informing whoever reads these to what I am finding out. I have no reason to deceive anyone. I post links to the pages where I find this information and many times multiple sources. Then you have the option of going to that page and deciding for yourself if that information is worth a hill of beans or not. The way I see it, most people are more likely to come on here and read these little things than they are to look up most of this information. I am simply trying to help people be a more informed citizen and make a better choice in the elections they are likely to participate in. Like the choices are all that great anyway.

I am no great fan of the Democrats. They can be almost as bad as the Republicans. You know the Republicans. You can see what they are doing in this state. You know what they are doing in other states and at the Federal level. Here is something I found online just the other day.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republicanism_in_the_United_States

“Republicanism was the distinctive political consciousness of the entire Revolutionary generation.”[13] J.G.A. Pocock explained the intellectual sources in America:[14]
” The Whig canon and the neo-Harringtonians, John Milton, James Harrington and Sidney, Trenchard, Gordon and Bolingbroke, together with the Greek, Roman, and Renaissance masters of the tradition as far as Montesquieu, formed the authoritative literature of this culture; and its values and concepts were those with which we have grown familiar: a civic and patriot ideal in which the personality was founded in property, perfected in citizenship but perpetually threatened by corruption; government figuring paradoxically as the principal source of corruption and operating through such means as patronage, faction, standing armies (opposed to the ideal of the militia); established churches (opposed to the Puritan and deist modes of American religion); and the promotion of a monied interest–though the formulation of this last concept was somewhat hindered by the keen desire for readily available paper credit common in colonies of settlement.

Revolutionary Republicanism was centered on limiting corruption and greed. Virtue was of the utmost importance for citizens and representatives. Revolutionaries took a lesson from ancient Rome, they knew it was necessary to avoid the luxury that had destroyed the Empire.[15] A virtuous citizen was one that ignored monetary compensation and made a commitment to resist and eradicate corruption. The Republic was sacred; therefore, it is necessary to serve the state in a truly representative way, ignoring self-interest and individual will. Republicanism required the service of those who were willing to give up their own interests for a common good. According to Bernard Bailyn “The preservation of liberty rested on the ability of the people to maintain effective checks on wielders of power and hence in the last analysis rested on the vigilance and moral stamina of the people….” Virtuous citizens needed to be strong defenders of liberty and challenge the corruption and greed in government. The duty of the virtuous citizen became a foundation for the American Revolution.[16]

The commitment of most Americans to republican values and to their property rights helped bring about the American Revolution. Britain was increasingly being seen as corrupt and hostile and that of a threat to the very idea of democracy; a threat to the established liberties that Americans enjoyed and to American property rights.[17] The greatest threat to liberty was thought by many to be corruption–not just in London but at home as well. The colonists associated it with luxury and, especially, inherited aristocracy, which they condemned. (A few Americans did gain English titles, but they moved to London.)

Historian Gordon Wood has tied the founding ideas to American Exceptionalism.”Our beliefs in liberty, equality, constitutionalism, and the well-being of ordinary people came out of the Revolutionary era.

n Discourse of 1759 Jonathan Mayhew states “An absolute submission to our prince, or whether disobedience and resistance may not be justified able in some cases. . .to all those who bear the title of rulers in common but only to those who actually perform the duty of rulers by exercising a reasonable and just authority for the good of human society.” The notion that British rulers were not virtuous, nor exercising their authority for the “good of human society” prompted the colonial desire to protect and reestablish republican values in government. This need to protect virtue was a philosophical underpinning of the American Revolution[22]

The open question, as Pocock suggested,[26] of the conflict between personal economic interest (grounded in Lockean liberalism) and classical republicanism, troubled Americans. Jefferson and Madison roundly denounced the Federalists for creating a national bank as tending to corruption and monarchism;

John Adams often pondered the issue of civic virtue. Writing Mercy Otis Warren in 1776, he agreed with the Greeks and the Romans, that, “Public Virtue cannot exist without private, and public Virtue is the only Foundation of Republics.” Adams insisted, “There must be a positive Passion for the public good, the public Interest, Honor, Power, and Glory, established in the Minds of the People, or there can be no Republican Government, nor any real Liberty. And this public Passion must be Superior to all private Passions. Men must be ready, they must pride themselves, and be happy to sacrifice their private Pleasures, Passions, and Interests, nay their private Friendships and dearest connections, when they Stand in Competition with the Rights of society.”[27]

Adams worried that a businessman might have financial interests that conflicted with republican duty; indeed, he was especially suspicious of banks. He decided that history taught that “the Spirit of Commerce … is incompatible with that purity of Heart, and Greatness of soul which is necessary for a happy Republic.” But so much of that spirit of commerce had infected America. In New England, Adams noted, “even the Farmers and Tradesmen are addicted to Commerce.” As a result, there was “a great Danger that a Republican Government would be very factious and turbulent there.”[28]

Under the new government after the Revolution, “republican motherhood” became an ideal, as exemplified by Abigail Adams and Mercy Otis Warren. The first duty of the republican woman was to instill republican values in her children, and to avoid luxury and ostentation.[3

Does this look like the current Republican party? If that definition is what “establishment Republican” means, I’ll take a few of those please.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

